SAS vs SATA: How Server Drive Interfaces Differ in Speed, Reliability and Compatibility

SAS vs SATA: How Server Drive Interfaces Differ in Speed, Reliability and Compatibility

SAS vs SATA: a 2.5-inch SAS hard drive shown at its connector edge, where the plug is one continuous piece with no gap between the signal and power sections.

SAS vs SATA is a difference in architecture, not build quality. SAS (Serial Attached SCSI) and SATA (Serial ATA) are the two serial interfaces server hard drives and SSDs use. SAS carries the SCSI command set, adds a second port and finer error-recovery control, and runs at 12 Gb/s, or 22.5 Gb/s as 24G SAS, against 6 Gb/s for SATA.

The difference between SAS and SATA does not extend to the reliability ratings: Seagate, Western Digital and Toshiba publish identical error and failure ratings for the SAS and SATA versions of the same drive family.

  • Compatibility runs one way. SAS bays and controllers accept SATA drives; a SAS drive needs a SAS-capable bay and controller.
  • Dell PERC controllers keep SAS and SATA drives in separate virtual disks, even on the same controller.
  • SAS earns its place with dual controllers, T10 protection information, tight recovery deadlines, or SSDs faster than SATA's 600 MB/s.

We list both interfaces across server hard drives, SAS SSDs and SATA SSDs. Every table below links the source documents for its figures.

SAS vs SATA at a glance

SAS and SATA differ in command set, ports, speed ceiling, expansion and controller support, not in the reliability ratings of same-family drives.

SAS drive vs SATA drive at a glance, with the source document for each row
AttributeSATASASSource
Command setATASCSI; tunnels ATA to SATA drives (STP)Seagate · T10
Line rate per lane6 Gb/s12 Gb/s (SAS-3); 22.5 Gb/s (24G SAS)SATA-IO · Kioxia
Throughput per lane600 MB/s1,200 MB/s (12G); 2.4 GB/s (24G)SATA-IO · Seagate · Kioxia
DuplexHalf-duplex, per Kioxia and UnigenFull duplexSeagate · Unigen
Ports and pathsOne port; a second host needs an interposerTwo ports, each able to reach a separate controllerSFF-9482 · Kioxia
ExpansionBehind a SAS expander through STPExpanders; the LSI 9300-8i supports up to 1,024 devicesSeagate · LSI
Queue depthNCQ: 1 to 32 commandsNot fixed by the standard (“Indeterminate”); WD HC580: 128 per initiatorT10 · WD
Error-recovery limit (WD HC580)6.5 s minimum40 ms to 65,535 msWD SATA · WD SAS
T10 Protection InformationNot listed on the SATA models checkedSupported (520- and 528-byte sectors)WD · Seagate
Drive plugCS1 and CS3, with a gapCS1, CS2 and CS3, unifiedSFF-8482 · Seagate
Hot plugYesYesIntel AHCI · SFF-8482
Controllers that run itSATA, SAS and tri-mode controllersSAS and tri-mode controllers, not SATA-only onesBroadcom · Dell
Same-family reliability (Exos X24)<1 in 10E15 unrecoverable read errors; 2,500,000 h MTBF; 0.35% AFRIdenticalSeagate

What is a SAS drive, and what is a SATA drive?

A SAS drive is a hard drive or SSD that uses Serial Attached SCSI: the SCSI command set over a serial, point-to-point, full-duplex link, with two ports on one connector. A SATA drive uses the ATA command set over Serial ATA, with one port.

What is a SAS drive?

A SAS drive is a hard drive or SSD built to the INCITS T10 SAS standards; SAS hard drives come as 7,200 RPM nearline, 10K and 15K models. Seagate's SAS interface manual describes SAS as combining “the intelligence of SCSI with the physical transport layer.”

What is a SATA drive?

A SATA drive is a single-port hard drive or SSD built to the Serial ATA specification, whose fastest generation SATA-IO names SATA 6Gb/s. It is not a consumer-only interface: Seagate, Western Digital and Toshiba each build 7,200 RPM enterprise drive families in both SATA and SAS versions.

Is SAS faster than SATA?

At the interface, yes: SATA tops out at 6 Gb/s, which SATA-IO equates to 600 MB/s, while SAS runs at 12 Gb/s and 24G SAS at 22.5 Gb/s per lane. Within a hard drive family, the mechanics set the pace: the SAS and SATA models checked list the same sustained transfer rates, with one exception that favors SAS.

Line rates by generation

SATA vs SAS line rates, encoding and throughput per lane, as each source states them
GenerationLine rateEncodingThroughput per laneSource
SATA 6Gb/s (Revision 3.0)6 Gb/sNot in public SATA-IO documents600 MB/sSATA-IO
SAS-26 Gb/s8b10b600 MB/sSeagate
SAS-312 Gb/s8b10b1,200 MB/sWD · Seagate
SAS-4 (24G SAS)22.5 Gb/s128b/150b (128b/130b plus 20-bit FEC)2.4 GB/sKioxia · Broadcom

Why same-family hard drives perform the same

A capacity hard drive runs well below either ceiling. Seagate's Exos X24 lists 285 MB/s sustained and the same “168/550” random read/write IOPS on both interfaces, and WD's HC580 lists 298 MB/s and 4.16 ms average latency on both. Latency follows spindle speed: 2.9 ms at 10,000 RPM and 2.0 ms at 15K on Seagate's Exos 10E2400 and 15E900.

The one same-family difference found favors SAS: Seagate's Exos 7E10 512n models list 236 MB/s on SAS and 215 MB/s on SATA.

Where the interface ceiling does matter

The SAS vs SATA speed gap matters once a device approaches 600 MB/s. Seagate rates its Nytro 1351 SATA SSD at 560 MB/s sequential read and its Nytro 3350 SAS SSD at 1,100 MB/s on one port, and it chose SAS for its MACH.2 dual-actuator hard drive because a “520MB/s sustained data rate” would “come very close to saturating the SATA 6Gb/s interface.”

Command queuing: NCQ vs SCSI

SATA's queue depth is capped at 32 commands; SCSI's is not fixed by the standard. Native Command Queuing holds 1 to 32 commands. The T10 committee's comparison lists SCSI queue depth as “Indeterminate,” because SCSI devices return BUSY or TASK SET FULL instead of advertising a maximum. WD's HC580 SAS lets one initiator queue “up to 128 commands.”

Are SAS drives more reliable than SATA drives?

Not when the mechanics are the same. Seagate, Western Digital and Toshiba publish identical unrecoverable read error and annualized failure rate (AFR) ratings for the SAS and SATA versions of a drive family, and identical MTBF where they list one.

Same family, same ratings

SAS HDD vs SATA HDD in the same drive family, from each manufacturer's datasheet or specification
Drive and interfacePortsUnrecoverable read errorsMTBFAFRSustained transferSource
Seagate Exos X24 24TB SATA (ST24000NM002H)Single<1 in 10E152,500,000 h0.35%285 MB/sSeagate
Seagate Exos X24 24TB SAS (ST24000NM007H)Dual<1 in 10E152,500,000 h0.35%285 MB/sSeagate
WD Ultrastar DC HC580 SATASingle1 in 10^15 bits readNot stated0.35%298 MB/sWD
WD Ultrastar DC HC580 SASDual1 in 10^15 bits readNot stated0.35%298 MB/sWD
Toshiba MG11 SATA and SAS (one shared table)Not in the table10 per 10^16 bits read (1 in 10^15)2,500,000 h0.35%295, 285 or 281 MiB/s by capacityToshiba

The SAS model adds a second port, T10 protection information and finer recovery control at the same capacity: 24TB on both Exos X24 versions. Service terms match too, with Seagate rating both for 8760 power-on hours per year.

Where the 1-in-10^16 rating comes from

From 10K and 15K drives, not from the SAS interface. Seagate's Exos 10E2400 and Exos 15E900 datasheets list 1 per 10E16 and a 0.44% AFR, higher than the 0.35% of the Exos X24 and MG11. Error rating and failure rate are different measures, and neither follows the interface.

Error-recovery control: why RAID controllers care

A RAID controller needs a drive to report a bad read quickly, and in Western Digital's HC580 family the SAS model allows a far tighter deadline. WD's TLER sheet notes there is “no industry standard,” but “RAID cards will typically wait 8 seconds for a drive to respond,” so a drive stuck in long internal recovery can be dropped from the array; TLER drives report an error “after 7 seconds.”

The HC580 SAS accepts a recovery limit from 40 ms, while the HC580 SATA's minimum is 6.5 seconds.

Treat the error rating as a specification bound, not a prediction: Seagate prints “<1 in 10E15” for both Exos X24 versions. For rebuild planning, see our guide to RAID levels and RAID calculator.

SAS vs SATA connectors and cables

A SATA drive's plug has a gap between its 7-contact signal segment and its 15-contact power segment. A SAS drive's plug bridges that gap and carries a second 7-contact signal set for its second port, so a SAS drive will not seat in a SATA receptacle.

Schematic of drive plugs: a SATA plug has a 7-contact signal segment and a 15-contact power segment separated by a gap; a SAS plug bridges the gap into one continuous piece and adds a second 7-contact signal set for its second port. A SATA plug fits a SAS receptacle; a SAS plug does not fit a SATA receptacle.
Connector edge of a Dell-branded 2.5-inch SAS hard drive, seen head-on: one continuous plug with no gap between the signal and power sections, and a row of small contacts on top of the bridged middle section.
SAS drive plug (Dell 1.8TB 10K SAS). The plug is one continuous piece; on a SATA drive there is an open gap between the signal and power segments. Photo: Enterasource.

Reading the plug

SFF-8482 names three contact sets. CS1 and CS2 hold 7 signal contacts each, and CS3 holds 15 power and control contacts. A SAS receptacle accepts a plug with CS1 and CS3, which is a SATA drive, or with all three, which is a SAS drive. Seagate puts it plainly: on SATA drives “there is a separation between power and data, while with SAS drives it is unified.”

Host-side cables use different connectors

Controllers connect through different connectors from drives. The LSI SAS 9300-8i puts “eight internal 12Gb/s SATA+SAS ports” on “two x4 internal mini-SAS HD connectors (SFF-8643).” SATA's own data cable is short: Seagate cites the Serial ATA specification as supporting cable lengths “up to 1 meter.” We list SAS cables with SFF-8087, SFF-8643, SFF-8644 and SFF-8654 connectors among our server cables.

Breakout cables and adapters

Cables change connectors, not protocol. Broadcom's cable guide lists SFF-8643-to-SFF-8482 cables for its 9300 and 9400 series adapters. A SAS-to-SATA interposer is a bridge that works the other way: it sits between SATA drives and a SAS host and presents itself “as a native SAS device.” None of them lets a SATA-only controller run a SAS drive.

Which drives work with which controllers and backplanes?

SAS controllers and backplanes accept both SAS and SATA drives; SATA-only ports and controllers accept only SATA drives. A SAS drive needs both a SAS-capable bay and a SAS-capable controller. For bay-by-bay pairing on one platform, see our Dell R740 and R740xd backplane guide.

Will this drive work? SAS vs SATA compatibility by drive, bay and controller, with the documented result
DriveBay or backplaneControllerResultConditionSource
SATA driveSAS backplaneSAS HBAWorksOne port, SATA link ratesLSI · Dell
SATA driveSAS backplaneDell PERC 10 or 11Works, with rulesNot in a virtual disk with SAS drivesDell
SATA driveBehind a SAS expanderSAS HBA or MegaRAIDWorks through STPOne STP initiator at a timeBroadcom · Seagate
SATA driveDual-controller arrayArray controllersNot supported nativelyDell ME5 supports no SATA drivesDell · Unigen
SATA driveExternal JBODDell HBA355eNot listedLists SAS drives, not SATADell
SAS driveSATA-only receptacleDoes not mateUnified plugSeagate
SAS driveSAS-capable backplaneSATA-only controller (Dell PERC S160)Does not workS160 lists SAS connectors as NoDell
SAS driveSAS backplaneSAS HBA or SAS-capable PERCWorksSecond port used only if the bay wires itSFF-9482 · Broadcom
SAS and SATA drives togetherSame backplaneSAS-capable PERC or SAS HBAWorksSeparate virtual disks on PERCDell · Seagate
SATA drive with Power Disable (pin 3)Backplane designed to SATA Revision 3.1 or earlierAnyDoes not power upOrder the legacy pin 3 variantWD
Decision flow: a SAS drive needs a SAS receptacle and a SAS-capable controller; a SATA drive works on SATA, SAS and tri-mode controllers, but not natively in dual-controller arrays such as Dell ME5, and on a Dell PERC it needs its own virtual disk.

SAS drives on SATA ports and controllers

A SAS drive does not work on a SATA-only port or controller. Seagate states that “SAS drives cannot be plugged into SATA controllers,” and Dell's PERC S160 lists SAS connectors as No, so a SAS-capable bay alone is not enough. A system with only SATA ports needs a SAS-capable controller, such as one of the host bus adapters or RAID controllers we list.

SATA drives behind expanders and in dual-controller enclosures

SATA drives work behind expanders but serve one host at a time, and the sources disagree on how far to rely on them there. Seagate's SAS manual describes STP affiliation: while one initiator holds a SATA drive, a second is refused with OPEN_REJECT (STP RESOURCES BUSY). Broadcom lists “Addressing of multiple SATA targets through an expander” as a supported feature; the OpenZFS project documentation says: “Never place SATA disks into a SAS expander without a SAS interposer.”

Dell's dual-controller PowerVault ME5 settles it by policy: its specification sheet describes a “dual-active controller” design, and its support matrix states that ME5 systems “do not support 4Kn, SATA, or vSAS drives.”

Diagram: a SAS drive's two ports reach two controllers, so one path can fail without losing the drive; a SATA drive has one port and one host unless a SAS-to-SATA interposer presents it as a SAS device.

Hot-swap requirements

Both interfaces hot-swap when the whole path supports it. Dell requires a backplane or enclosure that supports hot swapping, a host adapter configured for drive removal and insertion, and an operating system that supports hot-swap installation, per its R650 Installation and Service Manual. A SATA drive must use its SATA power connector: on the legacy 4-pin connector, Western Digital states, “no hot plug/unplug is allowed.”

Can you mix SAS and SATA drives in the same server or RAID array?

SAS and SATA drives can share a server, a backplane and a controller. Dell PERC controllers do not support mixing SAS with SATA, or hard drives with SSDs, inside one virtual disk. A mixed shelf of SAS and SATA capacity drives on a PERC becomes at least two virtual disks.

Dell PERC virtual-disk rules

Dell's PERC 11 guide allows, per virtual disk:

  • One drive type: “Combining SAS and SATA hard drives within a virtual disk is not supported.”
  • One drive technology: no hard drives with SSDs.
  • CMR only: no SMR drives.

Different speeds within one drive type may mix.

Replacements and hot spares must match protocol and technology

Dell's rule: “only a SAS hard drive can replace a SAS hard drive and only a SATA SSD can replace a SATA SSD.”

Why this is controller policy, not an electrical limit

Broadcom permits the mix in its MegaRAID documentation but advises against it: “Although you can mix drives, the practice is discouraged.” On a PERC RAID controller, plan to Dell's rule.

What is nearline SAS (NL-SAS)?

Nearline SAS is a 7,200 RPM capacity hard drive with a SAS interface. Seagate describes 3.5-inch, 7,200 RPM drives as “commonly known as nearline drives,” and Dell's ME5 specification sheet lists “NLSAS 7.2K” separately from 10K SAS.

Our reading of the datasheets above: the SAS model keeps the SATA model's ratings and adds a second port, T10 protection information and SAS recovery control. One practical reason to choose it: per its support matrix, Dell's dual-controller ME5 does not support SATA drives. Our SAS hard drives include 15K, 10K and 7.2K nearline SAS models; see 3.5-inch server hard drives.

SAS SSD vs SATA SSD

A 12 Gb/s SAS SSD has twice SATA's per-lane ceiling and a second port. In Seagate's same-capacity, 1 DWPD pair, the Nytro 3350 SAS reads at 1,100 MB/s on one port and 2,200 MB/s on two, against 560 MB/s for the Nytro 1351 SATA.

SAS vs SATA SSD: Seagate Nytro 1351 and Nytro 3350, both 3.84TB. Datasheet figures, not a benchmark.
FigureNytro 1351 SATA (Seagate)Nytro 3350 SAS (Seagate)
Sequential read / write560 / 535 MB/s1,100 / 1,050 MB/s on one port; 2,200 / 1,800 on two
Random read / write85,000 / 45,000 IOPS195,000 / 80,000 IOPS on one port; 250,000 / 80,000 on two
Endurance1 DWPD1.0 DWPD
Nonrecoverable read errors1 per 10E171 per 10E17
MTBF2,000,000 h2.5 million h
Average idle power1.2 W4.6 W

Dual port does not double everything: sequential write rises from 1,050 to 1,800 MB/s, and random write stays at 80,000 IOPS. We list 12Gbps and 24Gbps SAS SSDs alongside 6Gbps SATA SSDs: browse SAS SSDs and SATA SSDs.

Endurance class is a separate decision

The interface does not set endurance: both Nytro lines include 3 DWPD models (Nytro 1551 SATA, Nytro 3550 SAS). Choose the class with our guides to read-intensive, mixed-use and write-intensive SSDs and DWPD and TBW.

Power-loss protection

Power-loss protection comes with the drive model, not the SAS interface. Seagate's Nytro 1000 SATA datasheet lists a “Power loss data protection circuit,” Micron's 5400 SATA specification lists power-loss data protection, and Kioxia lists it on its PM7 SAS and CM7 NVMe SSDs. Seagate's Nytro 3000 SAS datasheet omits it; its SAS SSD product manual lists it.

Where 24G SAS, NVMe and tri-mode (U.3) bays fit

24G SAS (SAS-4) runs at 22.5 Gb/s and negotiates down to 12 Gb/s and 6 Gb/s SAS and 6 Gb/s SATA. Tri-mode controllers with U.3 bays let one bay accept a SAS, SATA or NVMe drive, but only with a tri-mode host, and a U.2 NVMe drive gets no link in a U.3 bay.

24G SAS in practice

The controller sets the speed, not the server generation. Dell's PERC 11 guide lists “Serial Attached SCSI (SAS) 3.0 providing up to 12 Gb/sec throughput.” Broadcom's 96xx tri-mode adapters list SAS data transfer rates of 22.5Gb/s, 12Gb/s and 6Gb/s per phy.

Because 24G SAS is backward compatible with 12Gb/s and 6Gb/s SAS (SNIA STA, Kioxia), a 24G SAS SSD behind a 12G controller or backplane runs at 12 Gb/s.

Tri-mode controllers and U.3 bays

A tri-mode bay is conditional. Broadcom's tri-mode SerDes “enables operation of SAS, SATA, or PCIe (NVMe) storage devices in a single drive bay,” and in an SFF-TA-1001 (U.3) slot the host determines the protocol. The specification gives a U.3 drive a full link in a U.2 bay, and a U.2 drive “No link” in a U.3 bay.

NVMe behind a PERC runs at x2

Dell's PERC 11 guide caps NVMe drives “at maximum x2 lane width.” Per lane, 24G SAS signals at 22.5 Gb/s, faster than PCIe 4.0 at 16.0 GT/s and slower than PCIe 5.0 at 32.0 GT/s (PCI-SIG); NVMe's lead comes mainly from using more lanes. Browse NVMe SSDs.

SAS or SATA: which should you choose for your server?

Choose SAS where a drive must reach two controllers or paths, where T10 protection information or tight error-recovery control matters, or where an SSD would exceed SATA's 600 MB/s. Choose SATA for single-host capacity tiers and SSD workloads that fit within 600 MB/s. We list both, and for a single-host capacity tier the SATA version of a drive family is a sound choice.

SAS vs SATA by server workload
WorkloadChooseWhy
Boot and OS volumesSAS or SATA on a hardware PERC; SATA or NVMe on PERC S160 software RAIDDell's PERC S160 software RAID takes SATA and NVMe, not SAS; see our Dell BOSS card guide
Capacity tier on one hostSATA or nearline SASSame ratings within a drive family; the SATA model draws slightly less power
Capacity behind two controllersNearline SASDell ME5 accepts NL-SAS, not SATA
Virtualization datastores on hardware RAIDSAS SSDs where a drive must exceed 600 MB/s; otherwise SATA SSDsSeagate lists 1,100 MB/s per port for the Nytro 3350 SAS and 560 MB/s for the Nytro 1351 SATA
ZFS, Ceph or ProxmoxEither, on an HBA or IT-mode controllerOpenZFS: “Hardware RAID controllers should not be used with ZFS”; see Proxmox hardware requirements and the LSI 9300-8i HBA
End-to-end integrity or tight recovery deadlinesSAST10 protection information; recovery limits from 40 ms against a 6.5-second SATA floor

Cost drivers: what each interface requires

Four documented differences affect controller and backplane requirements, power draw and array eligibility. A SAS drive carries a second port; it needs a SAS-capable controller and backplane; it draws more power in both pairs checked (Exos X24 idle 6.5 W against 6.3 W, Nytro 4.6 W against 1.2 W); and it is the interface Dell's dual-controller ME5 accepts.

Common SAS and SATA configuration mistakes

Most SAS and SATA problems are mismatches the controller documentation already warns about.

SAS and SATA configuration mistakes and the documented fix
MistakeResultFixSource
SAS with SATA, or HDDs with SSDs, in one PERC virtual diskNot supportedSeparate virtual disksDell
A SATA drive or SSD replacing a failed SAS hard driveRebuild needs a matching driveMatch protocol and technologyDell
SATA drives in a dual-controller arrayNot supported on Dell ME5Nearline SAS or SAS SSDsDell
SATA drives behind an expander shared by two initiatorsOPEN_REJECT (STP RESOURCES BUSY)One initiator per SATA drive, or SAS drivesSeagate
Desktop-class SATA drives in hardware RAIDDropped during long error recoveryDrives with TLER, ERC or Command Completion Time LimitWD
A SAS drive on a motherboard SATA portWill not connectA SAS HBA or RAID controllerSeagate

Frequently asked questions

Can a SATA drive run on a SAS controller or backplane?
Yes. A SAS receptacle accepts the single-port SATA plug as well as the dual-port SAS plug, and SAS controllers carry SATA traffic, including through expanders, over the SATA Tunneling Protocol. The drive runs as a single-port SATA device at SATA link rates, and on Dell PERC controllers it cannot share a virtual disk with SAS drives.
Can a SAS drive plug into a SATA port?
No. Seagate states that SATA drives may be plugged into SAS controllers but SAS drives cannot be plugged into SATA controllers. The SAS plug is one unified connector, so it does not seat in a SATA-only receptacle, and a motherboard SATA port, including a desktop PC's, will not run a SAS drive. It needs a SAS host bus adapter or SAS RAID controller.
How can you tell whether a drive is SAS or SATA?
Look at the connector edge. A SATA plug has a visible gap between its 7-contact signal segment and 15-contact power segment; a SAS plug is one unified piece. Seagate's Exos X24 datasheet also lists one interface port for SATA models and two for SAS. Without pulling a drive, a Dell PERC 11 shows its Disk protocol in the HII configuration utility.
Can you replace a failed SAS drive with a SATA drive?
Not on a Dell PERC. Dell requires the same protocol and disk technology: only a SAS hard drive can replace a SAS hard drive, and only a SATA SSD can replace a SATA SSD. A mismatched drive in a persistent hot-spare slot does not become a hot spare. Broadcom MegaRAID documentation does list an emergency SATA hot spare for SAS arrays.
Do SAS-to-SATA adapters work?
Not for running a SAS drive on a SATA-only controller: they change connectors, not protocol. One documented SAS-to-SATA cable joins a SAS drive's 29-pin SFF-8482 plug to a 7-pin SATA data connector and a separate 4-pin power connector, and its maker's datasheet notes that the controller must support SAS drives. Seagate states that SAS drives cannot be plugged into SATA controllers.
Is SAS faster than NVMe?
Not on same-vendor datasheets. 24G SAS runs each lane at 22.5 Gb/s, while an NVMe SSD such as Kioxia's CM7 uses PCIe 5.0 in single x4 or dual x2 mode. Kioxia's briefs list 4,200 MB/s sequential read for a 3.84TB PM7-R 24G SAS SSD in dual-port mode and 14,000 MB/s for a 3.84TB CM7-R in single x4 mode. Behind a Dell PERC, NVMe runs at a maximum x2 lane width.
What does dual-port SAS do?
It gives one drive two SAS ports, so two controllers or expanders can each reach it; Kioxia notes that if one port or path fails, the other keeps operating. Both ports can also carry I/O at once: Seagate rates its Nytro 3350 SAS SSD at 2,200 MB/s sequential read on two ports against 1,100 MB/s on one.
What is a SAS expander?
A device that lets one controller reach many more SAS or SATA drives. The LSI 9300-8i host bus adapter, for example, supports up to 1,024 SAS or SATA end devices. SATA drives behind an expander use the SATA Tunneling Protocol and serve one initiator at a time, while a dual-port SAS drive can be reached through two expanders.
Can SATA drives be hot-swapped in a server?
Yes. Intel's AHCI 1.3.1 specification requires the host bus adapter to support native hot plug, and Seagate and Western Digital specify hot-pluggable connections for their enterprise SATA drives. Dell's PERC guides describe hot-swapping SATA drives, provided the backplane supports hot swapping and the replacement matches, for example a SATA SSD replacing a SATA SSD.
How long do SAS and SATA drives last?
Drive makers publish service terms rather than a lifespan, and the SAS and SATA models match. Seagate rates both Exos X24 versions for 8760 power-on hours per year and a workload under 550TB per year; Western Digital rates both HC580 versions for 24x7 operation and 550TB per year. Both makers describe AFR as a population figure, not a prediction for one drive.

Drives and controllers bought on our website carry our components warranty; see warranty and support for terms. To match drives to a specific controller or backplane, send its part number to our team through our request a quote form.

Share this article
Enterasource Refurbished enterprise IT hardware, tested and warranted. Based in Irvine, CA since 2015.

Have Questions About This Topic?

Our team works with enterprise IT hardware daily. If this article raised questions about your specific environment, we are happy to help.

© 2026 Enterasource, LLC. All Rights Reserved.